Your Pilot…. My traveler

you burned your life into me when you kissed me with your cinnamon lips

my heart beat  with fury when you laid your love upon me

your fingers etched your name onto my soul when you touched me

a treasure map to heaven you took with you when you left

the gates barred and locked by the key that is your love

dangling from your neck on a chain made from reverence of our love

leaving behind only traces of clues in the dust

small beacons of hope sparkling from the horizon in the distance

and still you shine that light when you feel you’ve gone too far

til I call out to you, to bring you back home.

but you never return, not yet, you use me as your guidepost

tethered by that love, that love that goes on forever

6 thoughts on “Your Pilot…. My traveler

  1. Beautiful! I love the “leaving behind only traces of clues in the dust” line and the “your fingers etched your name onto my soul” line. I use “fingers” a lot in my own writing, and I love that line. I feel it, the carving of a presence on your being, the imprint left by a touch that cannot be duplicated.

Say hello, share your brain thoughts............

